The Team

There is a small but friendly staff supported by volunteers largely drawn from the 800-strong Museum membership.
Adrian Green

Adrian Green has overall responsibility for all aspects of the Museum, which encompasses managing the collections, building, displays, temporary exhibitions and staff. Adrian’s main priorities at the moment are increasing visitor numbers, widening access to the collections and redeveloping the Museum building.

Louise Tunnard
Communications Officer

Louise has responsibility for marketing the Museum, which includes advertising, print, social media, groups and events. She also looks after all aspects of admin for the team, the building and the site. 

Owain Hughes
Learning and Outreach Officer

Learning Officer devising, designing and delivering the formal and informal learning programme for the museum

Bridget Telfer
Volunteer Coordinator

I manage the team of volunteers at the Museum, which consists of almost 200 people. I oversee the induction of new volunteers and help individuals to decide which role is best for them. I co-ordinate the training programme for volunteers and provide on-going support for volunteers during their time with us. I also co-ordinate the very important social events to say a big thank you to volunteers for all their time that they give to the Museum.

Valerie Goodrich
Curatorial Assistant

Valerie's role includes answering museum enquiries; preparing for, and look after visiting researchers; creating archives and object history files; as well as supporting the curators of the collections.

Jan Thorne
Visitor Services and Retail Manager

Jan manages the Visitor Services team, the shop and the team of engagement volunteers.

Megan Fowler
Wessex Museums Collections Manager

Megan is Wessex Museums Collections Manager and is based at Salisbury Museum. Her work managing the collections, takes her to the parnter museums at Poole, Devizes and Dorchester.

Sara Willis
Development Officer

Sara coordinates the Museum’s development work. 

Nicola Kilgour-Croft
Finance Manager and Membership Secretary

The financial affairs of the Museum Trust are carefully managed by Nicola. She not only keeps a close eye on the budgets to make savings, but also helps the Museum to generate more revenue through fund raising initiatives. Nicola has also recently taken on the role of Membership Secretary.

Valerie Overton

Valerie Overton has the huge task of keeping the King’s House clean. From polishing cases to vacuuming the floor, Val can often be seen around the Museum enthusiastically undertaking her duties.


You can be guaranteed to be greeted with a smile by our enthusiastic front of house team: Caroline Cameron, Hannah Grigson, Jon Hampton, Chris Marshall, Kay Shepcar, Nicola Trowell and Jan Thorne (shop manager). Whether you have an enquiry, lost your way or want to make a purchase in our shop, reception staff are here to help.

Peter Saunders
Curator Emeritus

Peter Saunders was Director of the Museum for over thirty years and retired in 2007. During this time he masterminded the move of the Museum from St Ann’s Street to the King’s House. In recent years he oversaw the establishment of the current Stonehenge Gallery and the transformation of the temporary exhibition gallery. He is now a volunteer at the Museum.

Roger Wadey
Senior Guide

Roger is our Senior Guide. With his wealth of knowledge about the King's House, the museum and our collections, he leads tours both in the galleries and behind the scenes.

David Algar
Archaeological Finds

David Algar has been a volunteer at the Museum for over forty years. Originally a member of the Salisbury Museum Archaeological Research Group, he was involved with many important excavations in the local area including Laverstock and Old Sarum. He has a keen interest in Verwood Pottery.


The museum is managed by a board of fourteen trustees:


The Reverend Edward Probert, Dean & Chapter of Salisbury Cathedral
Mr D Dawson, Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society
Mr A N Deane, Wiltshire County Council
Mr W R Moss, Wiltshire County Council


Mrs Susanna Denniston, Chairman
Mr John Hutton, Treasurer
Miss Anne Beckwith-Smith
Mr Chris Elmer
Mr Adrian Green
Mr Simon Jackson
Lady Marland
Mr John Perry
Mr Peter Pleydell-Bouverie
Mr Roger Wadey